Update: Swisher Out on Fly Ball

BOS 2 NYY 1 BOT 5

In the bottom of the fifth inning with nobody out, Swisher was on second base and moved to third on a fly ball. An appeal was made and Swisher was called out. On the replay on ESPN, it showed that, by the naked eye, he did not leave to early. I understand the umpires are human and they make mistakes. I have no problem when they miss ball and strike calls by a half and inch or they miss a call at first by a split second. They are human and it’s nearly impossible to be perfect, and they do a great job. In this case, that call is virtually never made, and if you are going to make it, you better be 100% sure you are right. There was no way he was clearly out. You couldn’t even be sure by the slow motion close up. So, unless you are sure, you can’t make a call that is never made especially when you can’t even tell on a close up.
*
Stay Connected:

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s